CAROUGE HISTORY

INTRODUCTION – CAROUGE, SAUCY CHARM

A touch of Greenwich Village, an air of mystery inspired by the Marais in Paris and a pinch of Mediterranean color: a unique mixture for a unique city.

Separated from Geneva by the Arve, a peaceful river at times tumultuous, Carouge inspires idle wandering and gentle reverie. Small town houses, some opening on intriguing courtyards of hidden greenery, give the city its Mediterranean atmosphere.

HISTORY
Royal City – and an air of freedomCarouge was founded by Victor-Amédée III, King of Piedmont-Sardinia, a descendant of the Dukes of Savoy and predecessor of the future kings of Italy. Having coveted Geneva for a long time hoping to make it its capital one day, Savoy had to resign itself to recognizing the independence of Geneva following the embarrassing defeat of the Escalade in 1602 and the Treaty of Turin in 1603. Victory-Amédée III opted then for a different strategy: to found another town at the gates of Geneva, just on the other side of the Arve, to compete with its powerful neighbor. He called upon architects from Turin, then capital of the Kingdom of Piedmont-Sardinia, to build the new town. The little hamlet, which then comprised 17 houses, metamorphosed rapidly into a small town of extraordinary unity and harmonious architecture. Declared a “Royal City” in 1786, blessed with two weekly markets, Carouge grew rapidly in population, which was not exactly a coincidence as Victor-Amédée III strongly wished his new city to eclipse Geneva. He didn’t hesitate to abolish all the toll gates on Savoy soil to encourage travelers and merchants to stay in Carouge instead of crossing the Arve and paying the toll to enter Geneva. He also showed an avant-garde religious tolerance in permitting the installation of a large Jewish colony with its synagogue, as well as authorizing a Protestant pastor to minister in Carouge despite the city being Catholic. This little fresh air of freedom incited numerous Geneva Protestants, subjected to the austere rules of the Consistory, a veritable tribunal charged with ruling on all questions of faith and morals, to head for Carouge to dance, sing and drink their fill, all forbidden on the other side of the Arve.

CAROUGE – YESTERDAY AND TODAY

The French Revolution put an end to this expansion. The Sardinian city became the capital of the Department of Mont-Blanc, and subsequently joined the 36 Communes Réunies (united townships) attached to the Canton of Geneva in 1815, following the decision at the Congress of Vienna. This decision didn’t seem to please the inhabitants of Carouge, still loyal to their King, as they continued for a long time to close their shutters on the Swiss national holiday. Today the party spirit has returned to inhabitants of the Sardinian city. Of the “Catholic Carouge”, there still exists a joie de vivre and a conviviality, which the number of picturesque restaurants wouldn’t contradict.

Gianna Loredan et Christine Ansermet

Historical Audio guide

Carouge the city of craftspersons

Carouge is undouptly the city of craftspersons! Its streets lined with the beautiful arcades of 18th century craftsmen houses, a reminder that in 1790, the city boasted some 450 craftsmen. The tradition is kept alive today by ceramists, stylists, watchmakers and jewelers. carouge is an invitation to stroll from shop to shop, chance upon a unique object, or enjoy the sun on the terrace or a café at Place du marché.

The neighborhood also features magnificent courtyards and secret gardens to be discovered with a guide!

Carouge Historique

INTRODUCTION – CAROUGE, LE CHARME IMPERTINENT

Un petit air de « Greenwich Village », une touche de mystère inspiré du Marais parisien et une pincée d’atmosphère méditerranéenne: un mélange inédit pour une Cité à part.

Séparée de Genève par l’Arve, petit cours d’eau aux flots parfois tumultueux, Carouge invite à la promenade et à la douce rêverie. Les maisons basses, dont certaines s’ouvrent généreusement sur des cours intérieures et des havres de verdure, donnent à la Cité une coloration méditerranéenne.

HISTOIRE

Ville royale et petit vent de liberté
Carouge fut fondée par Victor-Amédée III, roi de Piémont-Sardaigne, descendant des Ducs de Savoie et prédécesseur des futurs rois d’Italie. Après avoir convoité longtemps Genève, espérant en faire un jour sa capitale, la Savoie a du se résoudre, après la défaite de l’Escalade en 1602 et le Traité de Turin en 1603, à reconnaître l’indépendance de Genève. Victor-Amédée III opte alors pour une autre stratégie: celle de fonder une ville aux portes de Genève, juste de l’autre côté de l’Arve, dans le but de concurrencer sa puissante voisine. Il fait appel aux architectes de Turin, alors capitale du Royaume Piémont-Sardaigne, pour bâtir la nouvelle ville. Le hameau, qui comptait alors 17 maisons, se métamorphose rapidement en une petite ville d’une extraordinaire unité et harmonie architecturale. Déclarée « Ville Royale » en 1786, dotée de deux marchés hebdomadaires, Carouge se peuple rapidement. Un effet qui n’est pas dû au hasard mais bien à la volonté de Victor-Amédée III de faire de la Cité une concurrente de Genève. Il n’hésite alors pas à abolir les péages sur le sol de la Savoie pour inciter les gens et les marchands de passage à rester à Carouge au lieu de franchir l’Arve et s’acquitter d’un péage à Genève. Il fait preuve d’une tolérance religieuse avant-gardiste en permettant l’installation d’une importante colonie juive et d’une synagogue et en autorisant un pasteur protestant à exercer son ministère à Carouge alors que la Ville était catholique. Un petit vent de liberté qui incitait bon nombre de protestants – soumis aux austères règles du « Consistoire », véritable tribunal chargé de régler toutes les questions de foi et de mœurs – à se rendre à Carouge pour danser et boire à leur soif, choses interdites de l’autre côté de l’Arve.

CAROUGE D’HIER ET D’AUJOURD’HUI
La Révolution Française vient mettre un terme à l’expansion. La Cité sarde devient chef-lieu du Département du Mont-Blanc et rejoint, suite à la décision du Congrès de Vienne en 1815, les 36 Communes Réunies rattachées au Canton de Genève. Une décision qui n’a pas eu l’air de plaire aux Carougeois – toujours très fidèles à leur Roi – qui ont longtemps manifesté leur mécontentement en fermant leurs fenêtres le jour de la célébration nationale suisse. Aujourd’hui, le sens de la fête est revenu aux habitants de la Cité sarde. De Carouge La Catholique, il subsiste encore aujourd’hui une joie de vivre et une convivialité que le nombre élevé de restaurants pittoresques ne viendra pas contredire.

Gianna Loredan et Christine Ansermet

Guide audio historique

Carouge La cité des artisans

Carouge est sans contexte la cité des artisans! Le long des rues s’aligne les belles arcades des maisons artisanales du XVIII ème siècle.

Les b’atisses rappellent qu’en 1790 la ville comptait quelques 450 artisans. Aujourd’hui la tradition subsiste avec les céramistes, les stylistes, les horlogers et les bijoutiers.

A Carouge il fait bon flâner de vitrine en vitrine à la découverte d’un objet unique ou de paresser sur les terrasse ensoleillées de la place du marché. Carouge compte aussi de belles cours intérieur et autres jardins secrets à découvrir en compagnie d’un guide!